How to restore lost files in Flex Builder 3…

Today I was working on a Degrafa based skin. When I hit some unknown accidental key combination and discovered the file I was working on had been closed. This closure was followed by my problems window suddenly displaying about a dozen errors.

Moments later I discovered, why! The file, along with it’s two counterpart skins were “gone”, *poof*, DELETED, gone to the digital Gehenna. Needless to say, I was quite distraught. And while you might chime in with criticism on how I should have had copies of the file stored in an SVN or similar repository; let me add in my defense that this file was less than 10 minutes old.

But I had an idea…!!!!

I created a new copy of the file with the same filename. I then used Eclipse’s version compare tool to do a comparison of the current version against older versions. Thankfully, Eclipse retained this information. I was able to easily grab my old code and copy it to the new file instance

UPDATED: Dan Wilson chimed in that you can restore files from local history as well. (Found right below “Compare with”).

Thanks Dan!

– Jason The Saj

PS – If you are unfamiliar with Eclipse’s version compare tool. You need to familiarize yourself with it. You can find more info in my Flex Builder tips’n’tricks post here:

9 Responses to “How to restore lost files in Flex Builder 3…”


  1. 1 Jim April 23, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I don’t understand why you couldn’t have taken just one of those ten minutes to back up your file in SVN. 🙂

    Seriously, this is an excellent tip; I would not have thought of fooling Eclipse that way. Thanks for posting it.

  2. 2 Dan Wilson April 23, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    You can also right-click on the containing directory and restore the deleted file.

    http://www.nodans.com/index.cfm/2008/1/18/How-to-recover-a-deleted-file-in-Eclipse

    DW

  3. 3 thesaj April 23, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks Dan, totally missed that….even though it was so close by.

    😉

  4. 4 Flex Junior April 30, 2010 at 8:48 am

    IDIOT FLEX.

    You might blame I’m new but it isn’t user’s friendly at all.

    See, I create a new project on desktop, with a folder to store everything.

    Then while deleting the folder and the content, everything in desktop gone. I can even recover it from recycle bin. Anyone work with dreamweaver before would know this certainly isn’t the way.

    STUPID FLEX where it expect everyone is the master of flex.

    I rather hope it’s a bug.

    Searching through net, so many caught with the same problem.

  5. 5 Bushy July 14, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks a Million. I just recovered the file I deleted. You save my life.
    Thanks again.

  6. 6 Anthony Mac Egan September 28, 2010 at 5:57 am

    Big thanks. Saved me a lot of work.

  7. 7 Jason June 23, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

  8. 8 Periasamy July 8, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Thanks a lot. I spent one day to repair the file with some other recovering software. but none of the software recover or repairing it. You saved me from a lot of work, thanks again


  1. 1 Restore deleted file in Flex Builder « ActionScript 3, Flash, Flex Reflections Trackback on May 9, 2008 at 10:04 am

Leave a comment




April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Awesome Developer Conferences


Nxtbook MediaFormer Employer - Great Company



The Saj... "Dark Lord of the SWF"