Windows 7 – Quick Review “I like it!”

Okay, so here’s the situation. A few weeks ago Dell replaced my aging e1705 laptop under warranty. (Was acting up, giving me a lot of BSODs, and memory parity issues. Had already been refurbished a couple of months earlier.)  They replaced it with a new model Studio 17(45).

Pretty nice setup, better performer, current tech and best of all it has a second hard drive bay. Can we say “Suh-wheat!”

It also came pre-installed with Windows 7.  I have done my best to avoid Vista.  I stayed with XP (& 2000 before that).  I like XP but it was still WINDOWS.

Now, I was really hoping Windows 7 would be  an improvement over Vista. But I was NOT suspecting that I might actually LIKE Windows 7.

Well, confession – I do!

In fact, the more I use it, the more I like it. There are a lot of little simple nuances that make me think that Microsoft is moving in the right direction.

Examples:

  • Right-click on menu item and you can simply “pin” it to either the start menu or task bar.
  • User configuration is now in a folder called users/userxxx
  • It’s even aesthetically pleasing.
  • Installed EasyPHP, threw an error. Why? Because the proper rights hadn’t been granted to the folder. So we’re making a decent step toward default security as well.

Microsoft, seems to have shunned the marketing driven Vista for one that actually has some decent improvements.  If you’ve been waiting to upgrade to Windows 7 and you’re using Vista. You might want to consider migrating.

– The Saj

2 Responses to “Windows 7 – Quick Review “I like it!””


  1. 1 Jeffry Houser January 9, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I’ve been using it for about three months now and it works fine for me. But, I have to add that I had no Vista issues during the three months I used it. Vista got a bad wrap, as best I can tell.

  2. 2 thesaj January 9, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Vista had some major issues over three reasons:

    1) it was sold on machines not powerful enough to run it. And it crawled. (Like the laptop that my wife got.)

    2) they moved everything around, and didn’t provide any intuitive way to find things.

    3) the constant security alerts, where it might take 2-4 alerts popping up to be checked for one change.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031