On iTunes being crap…

Had a commenter post about Apple being about user experience…well mine’s pretty much been hellish.  Particularly as it relates to iTunes.

For example, iTunes no longer wants to play my DRM’d purchases. Keeps wanting me to authorize computer, only to tell me it is already authorized – well if it’s authorized WHY WON’T YOU PLAY!

Sorry, if I am a tad peeved, and sick and tired of media/DRM issues. I paid for a product (device), I paid for a product (media), I’d like to use what I paid for – thank you very much.

</rant>

<newrant>

Okay, let me gripe some more. So after a couple of hours of getting my library restored again from it’s random “I lost all music”. I finally synched my iPhone. Oh wait, none of my DRM media would work. Kept having to authorize.  Deauthorized all computers, reauthorized. Finally seems to be working…

So there I have it, a happy iPhone…right?

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The synch wiped out a bunch of my contacts…. WHY…WHY….WHY
(And all the Mac fanboys have the gumption to say Apple’s decisions are to preserve a good user experience…BS)

</newrant>

2 Responses to “On iTunes being crap…”


  1. 1 Jeffry Houser April 10, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I’m looking for a “like” button on this blog post. 😉

    Syncing my iPod Touch used to cause all applications to crash immediately. No idea why! The solution was to download a new application from the app store; and then all applications started working again.

    When I updated the OS on my iPod Touch; it fried the unit. After many attempts to restore it; I eventually had to go to an apple store and they did some magic to get it working again.

  2. 2 thesaj April 11, 2010 at 7:38 am

    That’s why I get annoyed at the “maintain a good user experience argument”. As I’ve found Apple very unresponsive to emails and support.

    Essentially,there solution seems to be reinstall iTunes, restore your phone to factory settings – lose everything policy.

    So if you’re not too concerned about my bad user experiences. You can at least let me have the functionality I want. LOL

    At the very minimum, quit shutting down those who jailbreak their phones with every update.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930