Anti-Apple….

Yes, I think I have fully moved back into the anti-Apple camp.

My wife dropped her iPhone. It dislodged some buttons, then later the screen went gray from a dislodged cable.  She went to an AT&T store. They sent her out to the Apple Store (about 45 minutes away).  Who did jack. Except offer to replace it for $199.

They didn’t even bother to open up the case and try to fix it.  Oh and gave the whole “moisture” BS.  Come on Apple, it’s pretty much been proved that your moisture sensor is a FAIL.  But damn if it doesn’t give you enough excuses to not do jack.

Needless to say my wife was quite frustrated. Both with the lack of service and the lack of care.

So fast forward about 2-3 days. And my iPhone goes into the perpetual reboot. Won’t ever make it past boot. Apparently, this is a fairly well documented issue that Apple’s never bothered to resolve.

Meanwhile, Steve Jobs goes on and on talking about Flash and it’s poor performance. Something I’ve never really experienced (outside of a poorly written app here and there).  Hey Steve, how about you insert your foot in your mouth and focus on burying your own crap before criticizing another company.

So once again I am stuck wasting time with my iPhone/iTunes.  The software that has wasted more of my time in the past 2 yrs than all the other software I’ve used combined.  Why thank you Steve.

Looks like I am going to have to restore my iPhone to factory settings. Lose half my contacts which I have just restored over the past few weeks.

Yes Steve, I am paranoid about evening synching this POS.  I really really hope the 4th generation iPhone overcomes some of this BS.

– The Saj

4 Responses to “Anti-Apple….”


  1. 1 Mark Mandel June 2, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Sorry – I had to laugh a little, as you basically ranted against Apple for a page, and then said “I really really hope the 4th generation iPhone overcomes some of this BS.” – which I read to mean “Even though I hate everything about you right now, I’m still going to buy the next release of the iPhone” ;o)

    Now I’m left curious whether or not that is the case.

  2. 2 thesaj June 2, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Yes….

    I am so torn. With dozens of dozens of apps and software purchased that I use. Do I forsake an entire platform?

    And if so, what do I switch too?

    Android…

    Need to research if it’s any better. But I also lose such things as digital videos/movies (ie: Monsters Inc, Up, etc) that I have for my iPhone for the kids. That I can’t simply migrate….oh the joys of DRM.

    I am very torn….and don’t get me wrong. I love the iPhone itself. I think it’s a great gadget crippled by iTunes and the policies of Apple & AT&T.

  3. 3 Mark Mandel June 2, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Well here is the fun thing about all this.

    You buy products for Apple, you are essentially condoning and approving their activities.

    We all have to realise that there is no separation between the product (i.e. an iPhone) and the policies and practices of Apple (and it’s sub vendors).

    If you buy into one, then you have bought into it all.

    As a side note – I’m loving my HTC Desire ;o)

  4. 4 orkid June 3, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Wellcome.

    Proud anti-apple since 20 years, never bought an apple product, never will.


Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930