“This accessory is not optimized for this iPhone”

Is there a reason that my iPhone constantly has to tell me this?

I’ve already come to the conclusion that there are no accessories that are optimized for the iPhone. Forget the fact that I had to spend $50 on a stupid cable to allow me to output video to my external screen.  Clearly, it’s not optimized for the iPhone – even though it came from Apple.

I can’t figure out this !@#$% message. Because my iPhone will be playing just fine in an accessory, and than *poof* up comes the alert and it screws everything up and it stops playing.

Just stop with the message crApple….thank you.

UPDATE: I had gotten it to work on my iPhone4 with some cleaning. Not something that should be needed with a fairly new phone. But alas, the cable won’t work with my phone, nor my daughters. For a $50 cable, that does what a $3 dollar cable used to do – I am disappointed.

Even more annoying, waiting for Apple’s customer support call, and it goes straight to voicemail. Thank you AT&T…

5 Responses to ““This accessory is not optimized for this iPhone””


  1. 1 Bob December 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Is all you do is bitch? Damn!!

  2. 2 thesaj December 16, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Because…

    I have not ever had such a headache as I’ve had with the iPhone+iTunes combination.

    Guess for all the hype and fanboys, I’d like it to work moderately well.

    1.5 yrs to go…

  3. 3 Ransom Weaver December 19, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Might be a connection problem, e.g. some dirt or oxide in the plug or maybe damaged contacts. Made for iPod accessories all have a chip in them that responds to a security “question” from the OS with an encrypted key unique to the hardware, and if its not authorized to run then you’ll get this message: “This accessory is not supported by this hardware”. This is why you don’t see bootlegged MFI hardware. I’ve seen this in error with legit MFI accessory due to the aforementioned reasons. Maybe with Apple OEM accessories if it doesn’t pass the test it gives you this slightly different alert.

    • 4 John Capps February 21, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I have this problem also with a console to plug the iphone into. It will connect to itunes with the cable but not through the console. Use to work great but suddenly I get this message.

      Personally I think Apple kill it because I didn’t buy it from them. Apple hardware is twice the price exactly because they stop other hardware from working with theirs.

      Fine, my time is almost up and I just don’t need this kind of crap. I think google is going to bury them anyway. Hello, Android.

  4. 5 thesaj December 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Could be…I cleaned everything out with alcohol and that seemed to help. The cable wasn’t the problem as it worked with my wife’s iPhone.

    So it was my phone. Which was a replacement “refurbished” model. Which is what irks me a bit that I’ve had a lot of these messages since getting it. Hopefully the cleaning job resolved the issue.

    I really, really, really don’t understand why Apple is still using the original iPod cable from nearly a century ago. It is probably the largest cable on the market. You could pair a HDMI + a USB cable together and have a smaller connector.

    Seems to me that Apple should have come out with iPod cable 2.0 about 3 yrs ago. I can’t see any justification for keeping a cable that is by far the largest in the industry. Most other smart devices utilize some form of the USB or Firewire standard. I want a plug that’s only a centimeter or so wide.

    And please, no one argue that they wanted a cable less prone than breaking. As I’ve never had a mini-USB jack break on me. I’ve gone through a LOT of iPod/iPhone cables. They wear out much faster.


Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031