Third Times a Harm (iPhone/iTunes Does It Again)

It would seem that I am cursed not to successfully sync more than three times in a row.

So today I synchronized my phone. The result? I noticed an old app I had deleted. Bizarre. Then I realized ALL my folders were gone. Everything is re-arranged, altered.

This occurred after I tried to purchase an app, then ran into an issue of Apple’s terms changing (yes, the ludicrous 54 pages of terms that updates every couple of months).  I didn’t notice the alert nor proceed. So when I tried it had timed out.

I re-downloaded, bought the app, and installed it. Only to discover that all my apps are now altered. I presume it was due to synchronization but I am not sure. I’ve set it to not auto synchronize but find that it often does. It’s extremely frustrating, as I liked my folder setup. I liked the state my phone was in. Now it is ruined…again.

Sadly, restoring from back-up is not an option. Because the <sarcasm>geniuses</sarcasm> Apple doesn’t let you do back-up points. And keeps a single back-up, which it copies over at every sync. So when you have a problem, it’s too late, your back up has already been corrupted.

I am !@#$% sick of this…

As for those who complain about me complaining about my iPhone. I’ll stop when either a) the products work with any decency b) AT&T let’s me out of my contract.

Seriously, I have never dealt with a more horrendous product than iTunes/iPhone sync.  I really don’t understand Apple’s problem.  Heck, just allowing for multiple backups to be created without jumping through hoops would help tremendously.

 

6 Responses to “Third Times a Harm (iPhone/iTunes Does It Again)”


  1. 1 slavomir durej January 9, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Get HTC desire HD mate. Android is the answer 😉

  2. 2 thesaj January 9, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Damn it….

    Lost all my photos. And of course I get a choice from iTunes of the most recent back-up (of my corrupted iPhone) or one from November.

    How a billion dollar company can be filled with morons that are incapable of creating a decent system to protect one’s data is an enigma for me.

    STEVE JOBS SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HIMSELF

  3. 3 thesaj January 9, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    @Slavomir – If I could right now, I’d switch to Verizon and get myself an Android.

    I hate this. I have never lost more data than with my iPhone. Frankly it’s ridiculous how incompetent Apple is at data handling.

    But should I be surprised, just try copying two folders with the same name on OS X and discover how many files you lose.

  4. 4 thesaj January 9, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I hate losing photos of my children. Of all the data I hate to lose…those are the irreplaceable things.

    😦

  5. 5 Jim Robson January 15, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    This is the price you pay for buying a device that doesn’t support Flash. The Force will not be with you if you forsake the SWF. (This is something I never did get: Is the “Force” sentient or not? What does it mean to have the Force “with you”? I don’t think I would ever have made a good Jedi.)

    Seriously – I’m sorry to hear you lost photos of your children. That is really disappointing. They don’t stay little for long, and those photos only become more precious over time. So, take if from someone whose kids are no longer little: take lots of photos, and make sure you keep backup copies of all of them!!!

  6. 6 thesaj January 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Hi Jim,

    Thankfully, I was able to recover most of the photos.

    As for buying a device without the “Force”, well at the time Android didn’t have Flash yet. Or I’d probably have gone that route.

    The Force is quasi-sentient. Similar to the way our bodies are. They can sense an invasive parasite, or good nutritious food.

    LOL


Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31